Language Arts 7 - Daily Assignments

Quarter 2, Week 2

posted Nov 13, 2017, 6:09 AM by Jessica Anderson   [ updated Nov 13, 2017, 9:05 AM ]

Monday, November 13:  Review WOW3 words. Begin setting activity.

HW: Read 20 minutes of AR daily. Study! WOW3 Quiz is tomorrow!

Tuesday, November 14:   WOW3 Quiz. Continue setting activity - complete worksheet.

HW: Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Wednesday, November 15:  Travel Guide Paragraph assignment for "The Cat and the Coffee Drinkers."

HW:  Travel Guide Paragraph due Friday. Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Thursday, November 16:  Let's Talk Fiction assignment for "The Cat and the Coffee Drinkers."

HW:  Travel Guide Paragraph due tomorrow. Let's Talk Fiction due Monday. Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Friday, November 17:  Work time. Read AR.

HW:  Let's Talk Fiction due Monday. Read 20 minutes of AR daily. 

Quarter 2, Week 1

posted Nov 3, 2017, 12:17 PM by Jessica Anderson

Monday, November 6:  Complete WOW3 packet using wordlist.

HW: Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Tuesday, November 7:   Present precept posters. Complete 3A and 3B on notebook paper.

HW: 3A and 3B due tomorrow. Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Wednesday, November 8:  Pre-reading questions. Begin reading "The Cat and the Coffee Drinkers."

HW:  Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Thursday, November 9:  Finish reading "The Cat and the Coffee Drinkers." Write 5 discussions questions. Review WOW3 words.

HW:  Five discussion questions due tomorrow. Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Friday, November 10:  Graded class discussion.

HW:  Read 20 minutes of AR daily. WOW3 Quiz will be Tuesday, Nov. 14. Study!

Quarter 1, Week 9

posted Oct 30, 2017, 5:49 AM by Jessica Anderson   [ updated Nov 1, 2017, 11:13 AM ]


Monday, October 30:  Finish Wonder pgs. 298-end in class. Discuss themes. Work on study guide pages 14-16. Introduction to Precept Poster assignment.

HW: Wonder test tomorrow. Study Guide due Wednesday. Q1 AR due Thursday!

Tuesday, October 31:   Wonder test, work time (study guide pages and precept poster).

HW: Study Guide due tomorrow. Q1 AR due Thursday!

Wednesday, November 1:  Work on precept poster - due Monday!

HW:  Q1 AR due Thursday! Precept poster due Monday.

Thursday, November 2:  Q1 AR and all missing work due TODAY! Study hall/Q1 celebration day.

HW:  Precept poster due Monday.

Friday, November 3:  No School.

Quarter 1, Week 8

posted Oct 23, 2017, 6:12 AM by Jessica Anderson

Extra Credit - Write Patriot's Pen Essay for VFW contest - share it with me by Oct. 24.

Monday, October 23:  Read Wonder pgs. 205-234 in class. 

HW: Finish today's reading if necessary. Read 20 minutes of AR daily. 

Tuesday, October 24:   Read Wonder pgs. 235-248 in class. Complete Study Guide page 13.

HW: Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Wednesday, October 25:  Read Wonder pgs. 249-272 in class.

HW:  Read 20 minutes of AR daily. 

Thursday, October 26:  STUDY HALL.

HW:  Read 20 minutes of AR daily. 

Friday, October 27:  Read Wonder pgs. 273-297 in class.

HW:  Read 20 minutes of AR daily. Q1 AR is due Thursday, Nov. 2nd!

Quarter 1, Week 7

posted Oct 16, 2017, 5:50 AM by Jessica Anderson   [ updated Oct 16, 2017, 1:37 PM ]

Monday, October 16:  Read Wonder pgs. 168-185 in class. Complete page 11 in Study Guide.

HW: Finish pg. 11 in Study Guide if necessary. Read 20 minutes of AR daily. 

Tuesday, October 17:   Read Wonder pgs. 186-204 in class. 

HW: Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Wednesday, October 18:  Finish Wonder pages from yesterday if necessary, complete Study Guide pages 10 and 12, read AR.

HW:  Finish Study Guide pages 10 and 12. Read 20 minutes of AR daily. 

Extra Credit - Write Patriot's Pen Essay for VFW contest - share it with me by Oct. 24.

Quarter 1, Week 6

posted Oct 6, 2017, 9:57 AM by Jessica Anderson

Monday, October 9:  Read Wonder pgs. 118-132 in class. Complete pages 7 and 8 in Study Guide.

HW: Finish pgs. 7 & 8 in Study Guide if necessary. Read 20 minutes of AR daily. 

Tuesday, October 10:   Read Wonder pgs. 133-145 in class. Complete "I Am" poem for a character.

HW: "I Am" Poem due Monday. Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Wednesday, October 11:  Conference prep., complete Study Guide page 9, Patriot's Pen Essay Contest info., start reading pages 146-167 in Wonder.

HW: Read pages 146-167 by Monday. Study Guide page 9 and "I Am" Poem due Monday as well. Read 20 minutes of AR daily. 

Thursday, October 12:  Conference prep, study hall, book fair information.

HW: Read pages 146-167 by Monday. Study Guide page 9 and "I Am" Poem due Monday as well. Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Friday, October 13:  No School - Parent/Teacher Conferences.

Quarter 1, Week 5

posted Sep 29, 2017, 1:02 PM by Jessica Anderson   [ updated Oct 3, 2017, 2:43 PM ]

Monday, October 2: WOW2 review, read Wonder pgs. 54-80.

HW: Finish today's Wonder reading if necessary. Read 20 minutes of AR daily. 

Tuesday, October 3:  WOW2 review, reading check, complete Wonder study guide page 4.

HW: WOW2 Quiz tomorrow - STUDY! WOW2 packet due tomorrow. Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Wednesday, October 4:  WOW2 packet due, WOW2 Quiz, author interview video, free write and discuss.

HW: Read 20 minutes of AR daily. 

Thursday, October 5:  Continue reading Wonder in class (pg. 81-98).Complete Study Guide page 5.

HW: Read 20 minutes of AR daily. 

Friday, October 6:  Continue reading Wonder in class (pg. 99-117). Complete Study Guide page 6.

HW: Study Guide pages 1-6 due Monday. Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Quarter 1, Week 4

posted Sep 23, 2017, 2:09 PM by Jessica Anderson   [ updated Sep 29, 2017, 6:13 AM ]

Monday, September 25: Paragraph Strategy notes. Write Animal Journal in Paragraph Strategy format.

HW: Finish Animal Journal - due tomorrow. Read 20 minutes of AR daily. 

Tuesday, September 26:  Highlight Animal Journal following directions. Finish WOW2 packet using WORD LIST.

HW: Fix Animal Journal if necessary. Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Wednesday, September 27:  Animal Journal due. Introduction to class novel, Wonder by R. J. Palacio. Begin reading in class (pg. 1-14). 

HW: Read 20 minutes of AR daily. 

Thursday, September 28:  Continue reading Wonder in class (pg. 15-32).

HW: Read 20 minutes of AR daily. 

Friday, September 29:  Continue reading Wonder in class (pg. 33-53). Complete Study Guide pages 1, 2, & 3.

HW: Study Guide pages 1, 2, & 3 due Monday. Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Quarter 1, Week 3

posted Sep 18, 2017, 5:55 AM by Jessica Anderson   [ updated Sep 22, 2017, 6:45 AM ]

Monday, September 18/Tuesday, Sept. 19:  Correct RS sheet, look at Fall Survey in Google Classroom, check your grades in Synergy, finish WOW1 Packet - find definitions HERE. Play WOW games (lesson 1) or read AR.

HW: Read 20 minutes of AR daily. RS Quiz on Wednesday - Study!

Wednesday, September 20:  RS Quiz, read AR. Review WOW1 words.

HW: Read 20 minutes of AR daily. Study - WOW1 quiz on Friday. (Play games at left, study packet, or use online flashcards).

Thursday, September 21:  WOW review game, play WOW games at left or read AR.

HW: Read 20 minutes of AR daily. Study - WOW1 quiz tomorrow! (Play games at left, study packet, or use online flashcards). WOW1 packet due tomorrow as well.

Friday, September 22:  WOW1 packet due, WOW1 Quiz, read AR. Begin WOW2 packet using WORD LIST.

HW: Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Quarter 1, Week 2

posted Sep 10, 2017, 4:24 PM by Jessica Anderson   [ updated Sep 14, 2017, 1:34 PM ]

Monday, September 11:  STAR test to determine reading level. Finish Fall Student Survey (in Google Classroom at left) and turn in electronically. Read AR information and then take QUIZ.

Tuesday, September 12: Review AR information. Set Q1 AR goal. Go to Media Center to check out an AR book.

HW: Read 20 minutes of AR daily. Get your AR goal sheet signed by Friday.

Wednesday, September 13:  Begin WOW1 Packet. Read "Seventh Grade" in textbook. 

HW: Answer any four questions on page 31 in COMPLETE sentences - due Friday. Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Thursday, September 14:  STUDY HALL

HW: Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Friday, September 15: AR goal sheet and "Seventh Grade" questions due! Continue WOW1 Packet. Discuss Right Stuff rules. Complete RS Practice Sheet. We'll have a RS quiz on Wednesday, Sept. 20.

HW: Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

1-10 of 11