Language Arts 7 - Daily Assignments

Quarter 2, Week 10

posted Jan 15, 2018, 11:29 AM by Jessica Anderson   [ updated ]

Tuesday, Jan. 16:   Read "Charles" in the textbook (pg. 249). Complete open-book quiz.

HW: Read AR - Q2 AR is due on Friday! 

Wednesday, Jan. 17: Complete "Charles" worksheet in class. Read AR.

 HW: Read AR - Q2 AR is due on Friday! 

Thursday, Jan. 18:  STAR test in class - extra credit given for growth!

HW:  Read AR - Q2 AR is due on Friday!

Friday, Jan. 19:  Study hall/end of quarter celebration!

**Q2 AR is due by 3:30 today!

Quarter 2, Week 9

posted Jan 8, 2018, 6:15 AM by Jessica Anderson   [ updated Jan 10, 2018, 8:29 AM ]

Monday, Jan. 8:   Fidget Spinners article and assignment. WOW4 review.

HW: Read 20 minutes of AR daily (due Jan. 19). WOW4 Quiz will be on Wednesday.

Tuesday, Jan. 9:   Desert Tortoise article and assignment. WOW4 review - play games at left or HERE.

HW: STUDY! WOW4 Quiz tomorrow. Read 20 minutes of AR daily (due Jan. 19). 

Wednesday, Jan. 10:  WOW4 Quiz. Introduction to homophones.

HW:  Read 20 minutes of AR daily (due Jan. 19). 

Thursday, Jan. 11:  Homophone riddles! Homophones worksheet and Possessives worksheet (part 1). 

HW:  Read 20 minutes of AR daily (due Jan. 19). 

Friday, Jan. 12:  Subject/Verb agreement worksheet (part 1). Complete Lazy Editor assignment.

HW:  Lazy Editor assignment due Monday. Read 20 minutes of AR daily (due Jan. 19). 

Quarter 2, Week 8

posted Jan 1, 2018, 9:16 AM by Jessica Anderson   [ updated Jan 3, 2018, 6:14 AM ]

Tuesday, Jan. 2:   Return I-Search Paper, share multi-genre elements with class, AR time (quiz, get a book, read!). 

HW: Read 20 minutes of AR daily (due Jan. 19). AR is going in the gradebook on Friday!

Wednesday, Jan. 3:  Introduction to WOW4. Begin packet.

HW:  Read 20 minutes of AR daily (due Jan. 19). AR is going in the gradebook on Friday!

Thursday, Jan. 4:  WOW book work-exercise 4A and 4B, finish WOW4 packet.

HW:  Finish 4A, 4B, and WOW4 packet if necessary. Read 20 minutes of AR daily (due Jan. 19). AR is going in the gradebook tomorrow.

Friday, Jan. 5:  Study Hall.

Quarter 2, Week 7

posted Dec 19, 2017, 8:50 AM by Jessica Anderson

Monday, December 18:  Last work day! 

HW: Final draft of I-Search Paper due tomorrow (printed and in the basket!)

Tuesday, December 19:   Read Act 1 of "The Monsters Are Due on Maple Street" in class. Speech Team info.

HW: Read 20 minutes of AR daily. Two multi-genre elements are due Thursday.

Wednesday, December 20:  Finish reading "The Monsters Are Due on Maple Street" in class. Complete Study Guide Worksheet.

HW:  "Monsters" worksheet due tomorrow. Two multi-genre elements due tomorrow. Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Thursday, December 21:  "Monsters" open-book quiz. Watch "Monsters" episode.

**Two Multi-Genre elements are due today!

**Quarter 2 AR points are due Jan. 19th! Read over break if you need to!

Friday, December 22:  No School. Enjoy your holiday!

Quarter 2, Week 6

posted Dec 11, 2017, 5:52 AM by Jessica Anderson

Monday, December 11:  per. 1-5: begin typing I-Search paper in Google Classroom. See directions. Per. 6-8: write conclusion paragraph (page 9). Finish any other work in packet (pgs. 1-11). 

HW: Read 20 minutes of AR daily. Pages 1-11 in the packet must be done in order to type!

Tuesday, December 12:   Typing the I-Search paper in Google Classroom. See directions.

HW: Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Wednesday, December 13:  Typing the I-Search paper in Google Classroom. See directions.

HW:  Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Thursday, December 14:  Typing the I-Search paper in Google Classroom. See directions. Begin Multi-Genre elements when your paper is done.

HW:  Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Friday, December 15:  Working on Multi-Genre elements.

HW:  Read 20 minutes of AR daily. 

Quarter 2, Week 5

posted Dec 4, 2017, 5:44 AM by Jessica Anderson

Monday, December 4:  Read/highlight research.

HW: Read 20 minutes of AR daily. All research should be done. We'll be writing tomorrow!

Tuesday, December 5:   Writing body paragraphs (page 8 in packet).

HW: Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Wednesday, December 6:  Writing conclusion paragraph (page 9 in packet). 

HW:  Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Thursday, December 7:  Works Cited activity.

HW:  Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Friday, December 8:  Completing Works Cited (pages 10-11 in packet). Speech team information.

HW:  Read 20 minutes of AR daily. Green packet should be done through page 11.

Quarter 2, Week 4

posted Nov 27, 2017, 5:48 AM by Jessica Anderson

Monday, November 27:  Pages 3-5 in packet due. 20/20 Wonder Special, research info.

HW: Read 20 minutes of AR daily. We'll be researching tomorrow!

Tuesday, November 28:   Research Day #1 - Online Databases. Fill out the box on pg. 6.

HW: Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Wednesday, November 29:  Research Day #2 - Books and Encyclopedias. Fill out the boxes on pg. 6.

HW:  Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Thursday, November 30:  STUDY HALL

HW:  Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Friday, December 1:  Research Day #3 - Websites. Fill out the box on pg. 6 and the CITE test on pg. 7.

HW:  Read 20 minutes of AR daily. All research should be done! You need at least three different types of sources.

Quarter 2, Week 3

posted Nov 20, 2017, 6:07 AM by Jessica Anderson   [ updated Nov 20, 2017, 6:09 AM ]

Monday, November 20:  Let's Talk Fiction due. Begin research unit - Cybersmart activities. Access website for Activity #1 HERE.

HW: Cybersmart activites due tomorrow. Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Tuesday, November 21:  Introduction of research packet - Complete pages 3 and 4.

HW: Pages 3 and 4 in packet due tomorrow. Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Wednesday, November 22:  Complete page 5 in research packet.

HW:  Page 5 in packet due Monday. Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Happy Thanksgiving! 

Quarter 2, Week 2

posted Nov 13, 2017, 6:09 AM by Jessica Anderson   [ updated Nov 13, 2017, 9:05 AM ]

Monday, November 13:  Review WOW3 words. Begin setting activity.

HW: Read 20 minutes of AR daily. Study! WOW3 Quiz is tomorrow!

Tuesday, November 14:   WOW3 Quiz. Continue setting activity - complete worksheet.

HW: Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Wednesday, November 15:  Travel Guide Paragraph assignment for "The Cat and the Coffee Drinkers."

HW:  Travel Guide Paragraph due Friday. Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Thursday, November 16:  Let's Talk Fiction assignment for "The Cat and the Coffee Drinkers."

HW:  Travel Guide Paragraph due tomorrow. Let's Talk Fiction due Monday. Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Friday, November 17:  Work time. Read AR.

HW:  Let's Talk Fiction due Monday. Read 20 minutes of AR daily. 

Quarter 2, Week 1

posted Nov 3, 2017, 12:17 PM by Jessica Anderson

Monday, November 6:  Complete WOW3 packet using wordlist.

HW: Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Tuesday, November 7:   Present precept posters. Complete 3A and 3B on notebook paper.

HW: 3A and 3B due tomorrow. Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Wednesday, November 8:  Pre-reading questions. Begin reading "The Cat and the Coffee Drinkers."

HW:  Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Thursday, November 9:  Finish reading "The Cat and the Coffee Drinkers." Write 5 discussions questions. Review WOW3 words.

HW:  Five discussion questions due tomorrow. Read 20 minutes of AR daily.

Friday, November 10:  Graded class discussion.

HW:  Read 20 minutes of AR daily. WOW3 Quiz will be Tuesday, Nov. 14. Study!

1-10 of 19